Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Re: How wide can trailer be for towing?

I have some knowledge of hauling wide loads up to 12' wide but this is just from hiring a hauler and watching what happens.
    This is something you definitely need to hear about straight from the horses mouth, these guys have done a great job directing you to that horse. 8-)

This is the location for the valley division commercial office of CHP. Call them and ask for a commercial officer, they can answer your question. You will then know what is required. It will save you from a ticket.

Rancho Cordova (260)
    11336 Trade Center Drive
    Rancho Cordova, CA 95742-6233
    (916) 464-2090

I won't be surprised at all because states take keeping their infrastrucutre in good shape very seriously although in states like California it is a losing battle.

Thanks again guys. Just for giggles I typed in dmv.ca.gov because it is a similar suffix as the fish & game website and it worked. It doesn't have an answer to the question but I was able to e-mail it to them for Monday. I will see if they get back to me and be surprised if they do. I will let you know what they say if they do answer me.

Blog Entries
    Images

I think that if it's over 8'6", a moving permit is required, however, I've seen boats with 9' wide beams being towed without permits. I also think you can get an annual permit from DMV. Again the operative word is "I think" but what do I know, I like rope burns ;D

Sardine that is what this site is all about fellas like Toutfan can cover you at a whim, cause they have the knowledge or skills to complete the mission. I hope things go easy for you when towing your vehicle and you have a trailer car to keep the nuts from tailgate maddness...... Jetspray
    2003 Alumaweld, 19'6", Chevy vortec V-6, SD-309 american turbine jet, T-8 Yamaha kicker, waiting for the tackle fairy to show up to fill my boxes

Quote Originally Posted by Sardine